Trio Musik

“Cooper's masterful vibraphone playing and the rhythmic interplay between band members make "Trio Musik" a special project.”  Grand Rapids Press


Trio Musik, Big O, 2010

PERSONNEL:  Jim Cooper, vibes and marimba; Dave Hay, keyboards; Mike Van Lente, drums.

Sbelac Groove, Wind and the Waves, Waiting For Your Smile, Falling Star, Warmth, Fake Out, Djinni, Designated Hitter


Listen/Buy at CD Baby

Visit/Buy Trio Musik at Big O Records Website

Also available at the Jazz Record Mart in Chicago

Buy Now at CDBaby

Tough Town


"This is Cooper's debut recording, but he's no kid judging by his picture or his mature lines." Jazz Times 


Tough Town, Delmark DD446

PERSONNEL: Jim Cooper, vibes; Ira Sullivan, sax, flute, trumpet; Bob Dogan,piano; Dan Delorenzo, bass; Charlie Braugham, drums; Alejo Poveda,



Cheryl, Waltz For Betty, I Waited For You, Tough Town, The Dolphin, Shades of Light, Town Sound/You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To.


Listen/Buy at CDBABY

Also available at the Jazz Record Mart, Chicago


By Now at CDBaby

Written Music


Standard lead sheets and customized combo arrangements of Jim Cooper compositions are available.   Please email Jim with your order.  Prices are generally $25 an arrangement. Email Jim with your request from the songs below.  The following songs have been recorded and new arrangements are coming.

1.  Brilliant Shores (Chi-Town Sessions)

2.  Datura (Itchin' To Groove)

3.  Djinni (Trio Musik)

4. Itchin' To Groove (Itchin' To Groove)

5. Lonely Street (Itchin' To Groove)

6. Mallethead (Nutville)

7. Nancy's Kitchen (Itchin' To Groove)

8. Setting Moon (Itchin' To Groove)

9. The Wind and the Waves (Trio Musik)

10. Third Circle Itchin' To Groove)

11. Tough Town (Tough Town)

12. Vision (Itchin To Groove) 3-4 horn arrangement

13. Waiting For Your Smile (Trio Musik)

14. Waltz For Betty (Tough Town)

15.  MLK (not recorded, 3 horns + rhythm)

16.  Itchin' To Groove (3 horns + rhythm)